Two of My Doctors Who Died by the Gun

G. G. Niemi
15 min readAug 30, 2022

Two Doctors attended my premature birth in the mid 1950s In Port Arthur Ontario Canada (now part of Thunder Bay): Dr. Stephen Morton and Dr. David Burnford.

Dr. Morton stayed by my incubator all night, to try to make sure I would survive.

Both these attending physicians at my birth would later die by the gun.

I recall Dr. Morton as being kind, wearing a worn tweed suit jacket and making house calls with his classic black medical bag. My mother said he was very dedicated and humble and his shoes were worn.

https://talefinn.medium.com/a-passing-parade-fe0b425f5fa8

Dr. Morton had an interesting history.

He was born in Beirut and had an Armenian father and an English mother. The family moved from there to Greece and then finally to Paris.

His mother died of cancer and Stephen moved to England to live with an aunt.

(Quotations below referencing www.fernieroad are from the notes of Dr. Morton’s son, Adam).

“He went to Cambridge with a classical scholarship but studied medicine.”

http://www.fernieroad.ca/a/Notes%20from%20Adam’s%20life.pdf

He married “Prudence Ollivant” from a posh English family at the end of the war. He changed his…

--

--

G. G. Niemi

Former Social Worker, Songwriter & Drummer with stories to share